Cork are the Munster hurling Champions 2017

Published by Brian Ò'Sùilleabhàin on

Cork have beaten Clare to become Munster Senior Hurling Champions by a score of 1-25 to 1-20

The match threw in at 4PM at Temple Stadium, Thurles and from the off it was an exciting game of hurling.

It was point for point in the first few mins with Cork opening the scoring with Clare following every point. Cork broke and Alan Cadogan scored a goal after fourteen minutes to make it 1-3 to 0-3

A penalty in the 21st minute for Clare made it all square 1-3 to 0-6

The first half finished up with Cork Leading by five points with a score line of 1-10 to 0-8

It’s been an intriguing encounter so far – Clare started the better, but the middle / final part of the second-half completely belonged to Cork.

Clare opened the scoring in the second half with Aron Shanagher slotting it over the bar.

Only 3 minutes into the second half it was a short resurrection for Clare as Cork maintained a 5 point lead.

On the 17th minute Clare bounced back with a goal from Conor McGrath who drives it home from distance.

With only 15 minutes remaining in the second half the game was getting tight with Clare only trailing by 3 points but had a renewed energy since the goal from McGrath.

Clare managed to pull it back to a 2 point game with three minutes of normal time remaining.

With three minutes added on Clare were deep in the Cork half but when Cork won the ball Patrick Horgan produced a fantastic score.

It wasn’t to be for the banner as the game finished with a scoreline of 1-25 – 1-20 to the rebels.

The rebel fans were also out in force outnumbering the banner supporters 3/1







Categories: GAA